Continuing Professional Development

The ADLS CPD Committee is responsible for monitoring the ADLS CPD programme, its performance and generating future CPD topics of interest. For each topic devised, a sub-committee is formed to further formulate the topic with selected speakers. Given the breadth of CPD, the committee comprises of practitioners from various legal practice areas and members of the judiciary.

The Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Committee promotes "best practice" amongst members of the legal profession by delivering cost-effective, quality CPD events that are of relevance and immediate benefit to practitioners. As well as focusing on content, the committee also considers various appropriate methods of delivery such as seminars, webinars, workshops, forums, webcasts and the like to ensure that CPD is delivered in an interesting and accessible way.

Martelli McKegg

Geoff Hardy (Convenor)

Geoff Hardy has served on the Committee continuously since 2001, and became the Convenor in 2012. He is a commercial lawyer of 37 years’ experience and has previously been a Vice President of ADLS Inc. and a director of the NZLS.

Phone 09 970 9569 - Email geoff@martellimckegg.co.nz
Barrister, Bastion Chambers

Brian Carter

Brian is a barrister practising in the Family Law arena mainly relationship property, trust, estate and COCA litigation. He is a former partner at McVeagh Fleming, teacher of Family Property at Auckland University (three years) and regular presenter and chairman at seminars and conferences.

Phone 09 369 5938 - Email brian.carter@bastionchambers.co.nz
Auckland Council

Joanne Chilvers

Joanne’s experience spans over 10 years in property-related law and includes time at a large commercial firm in Auckland. She spent 3 years in London working for a large international law firm on a range of major property related transactions.

Phone 09 977 5998 - Email joanne.chilvers@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Queens Counsel

Paul David QC

Phone 09 379 5589 - Email paul@pauldavid.co.nz
Barrister, Erskine Chambers

Michael Fisher

Phone 09 309 9116 - Email mj.fisher@erskinechambers.co.nz
Barrister

Guyon Foley

Phone 09 307 1300 - Email gfoley@gfoley.co.nz
Barrister, Shortland Chambers

Kevin Glover

Phone 09 307 9814 - Email kglover@shortlandchambers.co.nz
Anthony Harper

Gillian Goodwin

Gill specialises in corporate and commercial law, with an emphasis on securities law, banking and finance. She has experience in public debt issues, unit trusts and insurance products, multi-option facilities, corporate financing and wholesale and retail banking matters. Gill is a panel member on the Human Rights Review Tribunal.

Phone 09 356 2643 - Email gill.goodwin@ah.co.nz
Barrister

Dennis Jenkin

Dennis Jenkin has 36 years of legal experience, 24 years as a Barrister Sole at Shortland Chambers, Auckland. He has a broad experience in all types of Civil litigation including many appearances in the different courts. He has given advice in connection with Arbitrations and Judicial Settlement Conferences.

Phone 09 216 8531 - Email djenkin@cschambers.co.nz
Burton & Co

Ian Jespersen

Ian has been in legal practise for more than 25 years where the majority of this time was spent at a leading Auckland commercial law firm. There he worked on numerous major and innovative development projects. Ian then spent time travelling and working as a paralegal in London. On his return in 2010 he commenced work in the legal profession again.

Phone 09 913 1772 - Email ian.jespersen@burtonpartners.nz
Andrew Lewis Law

Andrew Lewis

Andrew has 15 years' of partner level experience at leading New Zealand and international firms (12 years as a corporate partner at Simpson Grierson in Auckland and three years as a corporate partner at Norton Rose Group in Dubai). He is a commercial lawyer whose specialisations include M&A, investment transactions, fund establishment and joint ventures.

Phone 021 868 642 - Email andrew@andrewlewislaw.com
Sellar Bone & Partners

Colin Lucas

Phone 09 631 0541 - Email colinl@sellarbone.co.nz
The Franchise Lawyer

Sarah Pilcher

Phone 09 579 3526 - Email sarah@thefranchiselawyer.co.nz
Maxine Pitch Lawyer

Maxine Pitch

Maxine has more than 18 years experience in both the civil and criminal jurisdictions and regularly appears in both the District and High Courts. She is a current faculty member for the Litigation Skills programme and has presented a number of seminars for the ADLS programme.

Phone 09 357 9500 - Email mpitchllb@gmail.com
Consultant & Notary Public

David Stone

Phone 09 422 9415 - Email davidandjill@ihug.co.nz
Faculty of Law, AUT

Paul Sumpter

Phone 027 295 5077 - Email p.sumpter@auckland.ac.nz
Barrister

Rosemary Wallis

Phone 021 457 644 - Email rosemary@rosemarywallis.com
NZTA

Kirstin Howard

Email Kirstin.Howard@nzta.govt.nz
Chapman Tripp

Daniel Street

Phone 09 357 9071 - Email daniel.street@chapmantripp.com