Trust Law

The Trust Law Committee will also provide expert and practical advice for our members and the wider profession, as well as being an independent voice able to comment meaningfully on developments in trust law. The Committee will monitor reforms and unfolding case law, raise awareness of key trust law issues and their implications for our members and their clients, and engage with government departments and other stakeholder organisations and professionals.

Given recent case law and proposed legislative developments, together with the fact that trust law is practised by over 40% of the legal profession, the ADLS Council considered that it was an importune time to create a specialised Committee focusing on this area of law. The Trust Law Committee was established by the ADLS in November 2016. The Committee has hit the ground running as their first task is to prepare  submissions on the exposure draft of the Trusts Bill. The draft Bill represents the first significant legislative change to the law in this area in 60 years and seeks to update New Zealand’s complex, difficult to navigate and outdated trust law, which is currently “scattered across the Trustee Act and a variety of decisions made by courts over many years”.

The Trust Law Committee will also provide expert and practical advice for our members and the wider profession, as well as being an independent voice able to comment meaningfully on developments in trust law. The Committee will monitor reforms and unfolding case law, raise awareness of key trust law issues and their implications for our members and their clients, and engage with government departments and other stakeholder organisations and professionals.

Patterson Hopkins

Bill Patterson (Convenor)

Phone 09 968 8578 - Email bill@pattersonhopkins.co.nz
Vicki Ammundsen Trust Law Limited

Vicki Ammundsen

Phone 09 222 2650 - Email vicki@vatl.nz
Kensington Swan

Henry Brandts-Giesen

Phone 09 379 4196 - Email henry.giesen@kensingtonswan.com
Kensington Swan

Richard Broad

Phone 09 909 5179 - Email Perpetual Guardian
Barrister

John Brown

Phone 09 846 3201 - Email johnbrown@xtra.co.nz
Queens Counsel

Vanessa Bruton QC

Phone 021 887 587 - Email vanessa.bruton@trust-litigation.co.nz
Sharp Tudhope

Brooke Courtney

Phone 07 578 2149 - Email brooke.courtney@sharptudhope.co.nz
Barrister

Hugh Fulton

Phone 09 358 3905 - Email fulton.barrister@xtra.co.nz
Brookfields

Alison Gilbert

Phone 09 379 9350 - Email gilbert@brookfields.co.nz
Barrister

Anthony Grant

Phone 09 912 0501 - Email anthony@anthonygrant.com
Barrister

John Hart

Phone 09 307 3327 - Email john.hart@tax-trusts.com
Sellar Bone & Partners

Colin Lucas

Phone 09 623 7541 - Email colinl@sellarbone.co.nz
Meredith Connell

Kathleen Morrison

Phone 09 336 7500 - Email kathleen.morrison@mc.co.nz
TGT Legal

Juliet Moses

Phone 09 920 8660 - Email juliet.moses@tgtlegal.com
Chapman Tripp

Sabrina Muck

Phone 09 357 9000 - Email sabrina.muck@chapmantripp.com
Stafford Klaassen

Barry Stafford

Phone 09 630 7007 - Email barry@stafford-klaassen.co.nz
Barrister

Richard Thompson

Phone 021 663 306 - Email richard@thompsonbarrister.co.nz
Knapps Lawyers

Ian Turner

Phone 03 544 7888 - Email ian@knapps.co.nz
Turner Legal

Keith Turner

Phone 09 309 6505 - Email keith@turnerlegal.co.nz